2009

2009

Suzie, Just wanted to let you know that LSAT accepted your evaluation of [my son] and granted him time and one half for his testing, and a couple of 15 minute breaks during the exam. Thank you so much for your professional expertise in evaluating [my son], his portfolio for law school is really shaping up quite nicely, and the experience with you was very positive. If you ever need anything in writing for the purposes of a reference, please do not hesitate to let us know. Blessings to you and your family. Best regards. (Mother from Wisconsin, November 2009).

People have really appreciated your humanity and understanding (Learning resource teacher, Washington International School, WDC, December 2009).

“…accepted to Stanford University…thank you.” (student from Fresno, CA, Nov 2009).

“…accommodations including time and a half for all tests accepted and invaluable.” (student from Arlington, Texas, Capitol Hill Senate intern, headed to Boston College, August 2009).

..accepted to the Medical College of Georgia…thank you for the evaluation…likely that extended time helped me reach my potential so that my scores were raised…” (student from Baltimore MD. November 2009).

Thank you. You’ve been kind, resourceful and professional. We’ve had a pleasant experience (parent of child attending Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar, July 2009).

After learning that our son has tested in the 99th percentile, we are now more curious than ever about [our other child]. When can you meet with us again? (parents of boy attending Herndon High School, Fairfax County, Virginia, August 2009)

I have run out of your business cards. Can you kindly send me some? (Child and adolescent psychiatrist, Leesburg, VA, April 2009).

You tested my son several years ago. We need to schedule him again so that he can qualify for a foreign language waiver at Hampden Sydney College. (Mother of a son from Washington DC, August 2009).

I gave your business card to our longtime doctor in Cabin John. We have been through this process before, with several of our children, and we have appreciated your work (Mother of Loudoun County Virginia Public Schools graduate headed to Brigham Young University, August 2009).

Thank you for traveling to test our daughter in our home. (parent of student in Williamsburg, Virginia, July 2009).

Love that you have Sunday appointments. (Parent of child from Towson MD, attending University of Maryland- College Park, July 2009).

Our son was granted the accommodation by the SATs that you said he needed. [He] did not have to fill in the bubbles on the answer sheet. In the past he had always lost so much time losing his place. Writing in the testing booklet allowed him to relay what he knows. Hoping he gets this accommodation in college as well. (Langley High School, Faifax County VA April 2009).

I wanted to bring you up to date re: [my son]. He was accepted at 4 law schools including his first choice – Marquette as they have the National Sport Law Institute. He was waitlisted at 3, and rejected from 2. Not bad at all. He will begin Law School this fall at Marquette, although shortly after completing his applications obtained a new position in Chicago which he absolutely loves but after encouragement by many is going to law school. He is also applying for the joint JD/MBA 4 year program they have. Thank you again for all of your efforts. (mother of son tested for LD and recommendations made for extended time on LSAT from Montgomery County MD, May 2009)

Your reports are amongst the best I have ever read. The approach is excellent. (Retired Montgomery County Maryland Public School school psychologist, author of numerous books on special needs service delivery, and private practitioner, August 2009).

…use of computer, and quiet room, on AP exams helped…(student accepted to Radford University August 2009).

Since we met I wanted to update you as to which doors your evaluation (and my brains) has opened. SAT and GRE granted that a reader read the test to me…NYU also has agreed….Wishing you well. Thank you. I LOVE NEW YORK! (New York University Graduate Student, June 2009).

We can’t thank you enough for coming to [our son’s] school to complete the evaluation. Not having to fight the beltway traffic was a blessing. [The Head of Lower School] appreciated meeting you as well. Let me know if you need additional documents for your review–yet I trust you were able to access his records while on campus. We will look forward to hearing the results. (Parent of child from Silver Spring, Maryland, June 2009).

Writing to let you know that [my son] was granted accommodations by University of Virginia for his upcoming freshman year. Thank you for the evaluation. Thank you for giving [him] the opportunity to begin with academic support. We hope that this will assist in his college success. (parent of child from Manassas, VA July 2009).

Although my daughter will not qualify for extended time given the findings, it has been informative process and allows us to be more realistic about next steps. (Father from Cumberland MD September 2009).

…approved for extended time for my December exams. (student, The George Washington University Law School, December 2009)

Our daughter now better understands how she learns. (parent of child enrolled in Roland Park Country School, Baltimore MD June 2009)

My daughter is attending Chatham Hall, a girls boarding school in Virginia, and requires updated testing including a possible recommendation for a foreign language waiver (August, 2009).

Success on Dental School (DAT) admissions…accommodations on DAT made difference in outcome…(student from Wilmington DE July 2009).

Dear Dr. Muir, Thanks for the link to your new website. Your family (the new addition was on the way when you evaluated [my son]) makes a very sweet portrait. I’d been meaning to give you an update on my son’s progress, and ask for a point of view on next steps. [He] applied to one college last year, George Mason. He passed his piano audition and was admitted by the Department of Music, but his grades (2.8, FCPS 6-point scale) weren’t good enough to get into the school. So, [my son] enrolled at NOVA. After reviewing your report, the school granted [my son] all the accommodations you recommended. I don’t know if it’s the result of the accommodations, or improved work habits, or a mix of the two, but he has excelled. I am so proud of [my son]. He made 4 As and a B (in statistics) the first semester and ALL As the second semester. His GPA is north of 3.9, and he’s a member of the honor society of the two-year college, Phi Theta Kappa. If he keeps this up, and he has every intention of doing so, he’ll be eligible for the guaranteed admissions program at UVA (3.4 required) and William and Mary (3.6). What kind of assessments will he need to maintain his accommodations going forward? (from mother of son from Fairfax County Public Schools, Virginia, May 2009)

We live in Puerto Rico and wish to schedule an appointment for child. (August 2009).

[My daughter]’s reading level has gone up two grade levels since we have had her tested. Thank you for outlining specific benchmarks, interventions and resources. The school is amazed with her progress. We owe the jump in her grades to you! She is reading with her peers now in sixth grade and we see that twinkle back in her eye. (Mother of daughter from Gainesville, VA April 2009).

Since we have last met, I wanted to tell you that I am going to Spelman College. Thank you for the push. (student from Atlanta, GA October 2009).

Texas Christian University accepted every accommodation you listed (student from Austin, TX September 2009).

…in my third year at High Point University and loving school for the first time…thank you for the understanding about what I am capable of…report has helped” (student from Charlotte, NC November 2009).

Finishing up at Duke this spring and wanted to be reevaluated by you so that I can apply to Business Schools with current testing (Student from Chicago, IL October 2009)

My daughter has a 3.5 GPA but her SATs are low. We should have had her tested a long time ago (Northwest High School, Germantown MD, Montgomery County Public Schools. September 2009).

I am calling from Iraq and wish for you to email a copy of my son’s recent evaluation (August 2009).

Wanted to share that [our daughter] has officially received accommodations at Virginia Tech. [She] is excited to begin college and we are excited that she will get the help she has received in high school through the University. Thank you Suzie for your help. You made the process easy. (Parent of child from Richmond Virgina July 2009)

…received MAT, GRE, and LSAT accommodations based on your findings…especially thankful as I had been denied previously. (student from Las Vegas, NV clerking for judge in Washington DC, August 2009).

International Family Magazine online review by Cat Wayland (August 2009). “There is nothing more confusing and painful for a parent than fighting their way through the maze of a problem with his or her child. For that parent, there is a desperate need for diagnosis and a proposed solution…Dr. Suzie Muir, and her work with learning disabilities at Tochterman Muir Educational Consulting LLC, offers relief to parents and children…Dr. Muir will get to know you and your child and conduct the appropriate testing to determine a strategy and a solution…If your family is looking for help and answers with your child that is challenged, please call Dr. Muir today.” To read full article: www.internationalfamilymag.com/articlesaug09/learningdisabilitiesmuir.htm

Not only was I granted additional breaks, as well as extended breaks, on the GMAT, I am beginning B School at The University of Chicago. Thank you for the recommendations.(Student accepted to Booth School of Business, University of Chicago, September 2009).

Dr. Muir, we just wanted to let you know the good news that [our daughter] was approved by the College Board for extra time. Your help was indispensable. We are so very grateful. This is a real game changer. (Parent of student at Madeira School in Great Falls Virginia September 2009).

Suzanne,I just wanted to let you know that [my husband] and I met with [psychiatrist you suggested to discuss possibility of medication trial for suspected ADHD] and [our daughter] will meet with her on Thursday. I feel so much better now knowing that [she] has a good team of people working for her now! I think therapy is helping and I look forward to [the psychiatrist’s] assessment. She got your report but I don’t think she had time to review it when we met with her. I’m sure she’ll find it enriching. I’ll keep you up to date as we proceed. [My daughter] still talks about the fun time she had in your office. Take care. (parent of a child from Christian School in Loudoun County, March 2009).

My son has graduated with a double major in Business and English from The George Washington University and is planning on applying to Law School. We can’t find anyone here in the midwest to do what you do. (Parent scheduling an appointment for her son from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, September 2009)

My son’s teacher has already ordered one of the programs that you recommended would improve his reading fluency and speed. (Mother of student from Clearview Elementary, Herndon, Fairfax County Virginia Public Schools, August 2009)

Thank you again for your time yesterday. I think [my daughter] was proud of herself, which is largely due to your kindness and professionalism. (mother of child from Flint Hill School, Oakton, Virginia February 2009)

Texas A&M honored each accommodation you offered. We are hopeful for a better year. Thank you. (August 2009)

Writing to let you know that my third semester at Elon College is great! You encouraged me to pursue mathematics and I am. With a calculator anything is possible! Thank you for that accommodation. (student from Detroit, Michigan, October 2009).

I have been accepted to, and am now attending, University of Colorado at Denver and will study Health Sciences…working on my prerequisites for medical school. My scores were raised with 200% time. (student from Falls Church VA, September 2009).

I took the Kaplan preparation course twice and my scores were raised yes. With the extended time conditions that I qualified for however after being tested by you my scores inched up to where I needed them to be for Medical School admission. (Student from Great Falls, Virginia November 2009).

We received each service and accommodation you recommended in the report. The advocate you put us in touch, not only seemed to care, but really helped. He was able to see us right away and came to the school meetings with my husband and I the following week. Unlike previous meetings, we felt prepared with your comprehensive evaluation and the advocate at our side. For the first time in years we are thinking that our son will have a good year in school. We have always wanted him to feel like he can do whatever it is that he wanted to. School has always been a struggle. We are optimistic. Thank you for helping. We will be in touch. (Parent of fifth grade child in Robert Frost Middle School, Montgomery County Maryland, June 2009).

…got all of the special requests [accommodations] for nursing school tests NCLEX-RN…closer now to going to becoming a Registered Nurse and helping make this world a healthier place…(Medical Assistant at Childrens National Medical Center in Washington DC September 2009).

Catholic University referred us. Thank you for helping us to better understand our daughter’s learning issues. (parent of child from Landover, Maryland July 2009).

We didn’t have to hire an advocate afterall. The county embraced your recommendations. (Merrifield, Virginia October 2009).

…mandating quiet place to take tests has minimized distractions and improved exam grades for our daughter…(parent of student in Arcola, Virginia October 2009).

First you tested my sister’s son. Then you tested mine. We have been so floored by the results I wanted to check about your availability this coming week–we want to have our two other boys tested as well. Its fascinating information (Mother of three children in Herndon, VA March 2009). “…just kept hearing how complete the testing is from the county.” (student from Springfield, VA November 2009).

our boy is happier in school… (Parent of child from Fairfax Station, Virginia November 2009).

We told our neighbor about you. Expect her call. We trust you will help her daughter as you have ours (parent of child in Dunn Loring, VA October 2009).

We just moved to Leesburg and have felt lost and overwhlemed. My husband’s job gave us two weeks notice and boom! here we landed. Finding you, and your services, have been a blessing. Within a month, we now have special education services for our child in school, an outside tutor, a pediatrician, an occupational therapist, a pediatric dentist, a speech and language therapist (for our other daughter) and a college counselor who only helps students with learning disabilities…oh, and a dry cleaner! What an unexpected service…I just found you on the internet as I was looking for my daughter to be tested! I feel like I have a friend in the area now as well. (Parent from Leesburg, VA October 2009).

Suzie, I hope you are doing well…our son is doing great and made the honor roll this trimester! He was beaming from ear to ear. He has been working so hard to achieve this goal, so he was thrilled. [his school] makes it a big deal with a ceremony, etc., so he was feeling very good. All of his teachers are aware of the accommodations he needs, but so far he has not had to use more time on anything that I know of. Thanks again for all of your help and advice–it has really helped [him] to understand the kind of learner he is and helped us to take a deep breath and realize he is going to do okay. Thanks again (mother of child from Saint Andrew’s Episcopal School, Potomac, MD April 2009).

Saturday appointment worked well so that we both could be there (parents from Charlottesville VA, and Dumfries VA, October 2009)

Dr. Muir, I just wanted to let you know we received a letter this week and [our son] got into the resource program at Fairleigh Dickinson . This is very exciting news , now he just has to graduate. The program is an assist program to their regular classes where he is to do his writing with assistance and the are trained to try figure out strategies to make writing easier. High school has been a long struggle…I will let you know how program works. Thank you for your help. (Montgomery County Maryland mother of child accepted to FDU, April 2009).

Your testing made a difference for our 15 year old. As a result of the accommodations she has received for executive functioning deficits through the learning center her grades have really improved. We have decided to have our younger daughter tested as well. (mother of student at Flint Hill School in Vienna, Virginia May 2009).

Our son is better in reading and writing than we considered. His erratic performance was clouding the teachers beliefs as well. Now that we know he does not have a learning disability, we can focus on helping him improve his behavior through therapy and coaching. Thank you for the recommendations we are already seeing tremendous progress. (Wyngate Elementary School, Montgomery County Maryland February 2009).

Thank you for referring [boy with hyperlexia]. Your evaluation was instrumental as [he] has made tremendous progress in our program (rep from Lindamood Bell, February 2009).

Every accommodation and recommendation you suggested was considered and accepted by the County. (mother of a son diagnosed on the Spectrum attending Blue Ridge Middle School in Loudoun County Virginia, January 2009).

Thank you for your insights (parent of child accepted to Auburn School, Herndon Virginia, August 2009).

My daughter was found eligible for a language waiver in high school. This is a great relief for her and means that she won’t have to try to pass French-I for the third time. Surely this will allow her to focus energy on other subjects. (Loudoun Valley High School, Loudoun County Virginia January 2009).

You have come highly referred by our child’s doctor. Do you have any appointments this weekend? We understand that you have been successful in College Board appeals. (parent of a daughter of Madeira School, McLean VA, February 2009)

I need to schedule my son for his reevaluation so that he can be granted accommodations in college. The accommodations he received in high school helped a lot. [He] will be driving himself this time as we are preparing him to function more independently as he goes off to college in the fall (mother of son accepted to Shenandoah University, Winchester VA, May 2009).

[My son] was granted extended time on his LSAT! Thank you for your kindness and especially getting the results back to us within a few days. It allowed us to meet the deadline. Plus it made his short trip back east worth it! (mother of son who graduated from Princeton University, Princeton New Jersey, January 2009).

We appreciated the weekend appointments. Our son is behind in school as it is and we didn’t want him to miss any more. (Mother of son from Fauquier County High School, VA January 2009).

It is harder and harder to get accommodations at the high school level especially when your child earns A’s and passes SOL’s. I am writing to let you know that upon appeal [our daughter] was granted accommodations for next year [because of your evaluation and recommendations]. (mother of daughter at Yorktown High School, Arlington County Public School, Spring 2009)

You validated what we were thinking. (parent of a student from Stone Ridge School, Bethesda, Maryland Spring 2009).
You offer professional quality services. I include your name in my resource packet for parents. (Independent college counselor Montgomery Maryland, April 2009).

The results will be used for private school admission for our daughter. Several of the schools we are applying to require ability testing. (Parent of child enrolled at Oneness Family School:International Peace Academy, Chevy Chase MD, March 2009).

Happy to say that [his] grades are improving with your recommendations and the school’s willingness to support him academically (mother of student from Episcopal High School in Alexandria VA February 2009).

Ms. Muir, I so appreciate hearing from you and compliment you on the thoroughness of your report. The family shared the information prior to meeting with them for a regularly scheduled conference, and the information you provided was most helpful to us. We have been able to use your assessment and recommendations to develop a plan to support the student and report more accurately to his family. Thank you for the information and I will most comfortably recommend you to other families. (Administrator Powhatan School, Boyce Virginia, March 2009)

Our son will attend the college of his choice, Washington College, in the fall. Again the testing accommodations you recommended in his junior spring made the world of difference in his SAT scores. (Parent of student from Ashburn VA, April 2009).

Thank you for the list of tutors, therapists, and reading list. We didn’t know where to begin and appreciate the direction (mother of boy Oyster Bilingual School in Washington DC Public Schools May 2009).

You did such a great job with [my daughter]…I will certainly give you a ring when [my son] is due (probably in the next 1 to 2 years). In the meantime, I will certainly refer anyone I know to you. (mother of a child at Flint Hill School, Vienna, Virginia, May 2009).

I wanted to update you on [my daughter]’s progress. Since we had her evaluated by you this time last year the progress has been tremendous. You will recall our soft spoken non-reader who hid when it was time to catch the bus. With your guidance we enrolled her in a research based, data driven program motivated, as you said, by needs and outcomes. It would be premature to say that our [daughter] is reading on grade level, just yet, but she is well on her way. Thank you for going beyond, identifying our child’s strengths and weakness areas, suggesting interventions and programs. You have been truly instrumental in our daughter’s life. Not only did the data and test scores help…but the plan you constructed made the biggest difference. Plus[she] now reads and is happier. It makes getting [her] out the door in the morning that much easier on everyone in our house (parent of sixth grade daughter, May 2009, Alexandria, VA).

Dr. Muir, I read your evaluation three times. I appreciate all the positive comments on [my son]’s behalf. I think he’s ready for a change from the Montessori program. [His] mother has not read the report. I’m sure she’ll have questions. Perhaps, we can set up a time to discuss this week.Thank You Very Much for the evaluation. (Father of boy applying to the Emerging Scholars Program, May 2009)

Congratulations on the new website, it looks great. I will most certainly pass it on! Your services were invaluable to us and I have returned repeatedly to the thorough report that you provided us with regard to [our son’]s abilities. Each time we celebrate a school success or face a challenge we find that the information has already been “discovered” by you with suggestions for ways to accommodate them. Unfortunately, our greatest challenge has been to find school personnel who will even read the report!! It is truly maddening.Thankfully, we have your resource and our patience to share your wisdom with them again, and again and again. It really makes you ask the question: who is the disabled one; our “different” learner or a school system that refuses to teach differently. Perhaps the day will come when the school systems will finally learn and teach “outside the box.” Until that day comes, we have you!! God Bless in all you do and for much success!!!! (mother of son at Bull Run Middle School, Prince William County Public Schools, A, June 2009)

Dear Suzy, Things are going better with [our son]. We really like [the psychiatrist you recommended]. The school was very impressed with your report. We have met with them on two occasions and they are trying to work with us. We are looking into other options for the summer and possible next year. Thank you and take care (father of boy who attends Cedar Lane Elementary in Loudoun County Virginia, April 2009).

You have a really nice way with children. That is a gift. My son really liked you a lot. I was surprised to hear that he thought the testing was ‘fun’ …I was expecting him to be mad that he missed soccer practice on a beautiful Saturday morning. Thank you for making the experience so positive for him. (Mother of middle school boy Chevy Chase, MD, May 2009).

I am going to refer my clients to you.(ADHD Coach with offices in Northern Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC September 2009).

A professor at the University of Pennsylvania, with whom I work closely, suggested that I call you. Although I do very well in school, the time it takes me is exceedingly more than others. (Young man from New Jersey, August 2009).

We wanted to share that [our daughter] has not only made it through her sophomore year at University of Pennsylvania, but she has made it through with honors. Thank you for the recommendations last fall–really set her on a new trajectory. (Father from Annandale VA, May 2009)

This process has helped me to realize what I have known all along about myself. It’s amazing that someone I didn’t even know before, until now, could capture this information. (United States Department of State employee, September 2009).

Our son transferred to Loudoun County [Virginia] Public Schools as a freshman. They accepted each of the recommendations you suggested (September 2009).

The testing allows the school to realize my child’s understanding (Virginia Episcopal School, September 2009).

Thank you for coming to our house this evening to discuss the results (Parent of 12 year old, attending J. Lupton Simpson Middle School, Leesburg VA, September 2009)

The school appreciated the results and has placed our son accordingly. (US Diplomat, United Arab Emirates, September 2009)

With this evaluation I am applying for accommodations on the LSAT and GMAT. My plan is to be either accepted by the joint MBA/JD program at Northwestern or the business school at Oxford University. (Graduate of the college Lewis and Clark, September 2009).

The learning center referred us. We would like to have our 12th grader re-evaluated so that he may qualify for extended time for the International Baccalaureate program. (Washington International School parent, September 2009).

Thank you for making the appointment so quickly. (Ambassador of Economic Community Of West African States, March 2009).

Schedule an Evaluation

  • * All indicated fields must be completed.
    Please include non-medical questions and correspondence only.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Scroll to Top